Discovering our Inner Wisdom: A Series on the Five Wisdoms with Alicia Renee Cannizzo

with Alicia Cannizzo

February 13th

Date details +
  • $125.00 Program Price
  • $150.00 Patron Price
  • $60.00 Student Price
Room: Main Shrine Room

Class Details:

  • When: Seven Tuesdays, January 9 - February 20
  • Time: 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
  • Where: Shambhala Center of Madison
  • Instructor: Alicia Renée Cannizzo
  • Open to: Experienced Meditators and Beginners

What to Expect:

  • Guided Meditation: Begin each session with a short guided meditation to cultivate mindfulness and create a supportive space for learning.
  • Exploration of the Five Wisdoms: Dive into the wisdom of the Five Buddha Families and their transformative power in understanding and navigating the complexities of the mind.
  • Interactive Discussions: Engage in thoughtful discussions and share experiences with fellow practitioners.
  • Instructor Expertise: Led by Renée Cannizzo, a lifetime member of the Shambhala Sangha with many years of practice and study, complemented by advanced degrees in the history of religious art.

Who Can Attend:

  • Individuals with any level of meditation experience, from beginners to seasoned practitioners, are welcome.

How to Register:


Shambhala Center of Madison
408 South Baldwin Street, Madison WI 53705

About Renée Cannizzo:

Renée Cannizzo has been immersed in the Shambhala Sangha since birth, cultivating a deep connection to the teachings. With a background in the history of religious art in Europe, Renée brings a unique perspective to her teachings. Join her in exploring the transformative power of the Five Wisdoms.

Contact Information:

For inquiries or registration assistance, please visit our website or email [email protected].

Come and embark on a journey of self-discovery and transformation. All are welcome!

More Information:

The Five Wisdoms, also known as the Five Buddha Families or Five jnanas, are an important  concept in Vajrayana Buddhism. These wisdoms represent different aspects of enlightened consciousness and are associated with specific Buddhas. Each wisdom is also connected to certain mental and emotional characteristics.

The Five Buddha Families provides a framework for understanding and transforming various aspects of our own minds and emotions on the path to enlightenment. Here's how they can help us understand ourselves:

  • Identification of Mental Staties:
    • The Five Buddha Families help us identify and recognize different mental and emotional states within ourselves. Each family is associated with specific qualities, such as wisdom, compassion, and discernment, as well as with certain afflictive emotions like anger, desire, and ignorance.
  • Transformation of Negative Emotions:
    • The Buddhas of the Five Families represent the transformation of negative emotions into enlightened qualities. By understanding the associated wisdoms, we learn to transform destructive emotions like anger, attachment, pride, envy, and ignorance into positive qualities such as wisdom, compassion, and skillful action.
  • Balancing and Integration:
    • The Five Buddha Families highlight the need for balance and integration of various aspects of our psyche. By recognizing the different qualities within each family, we can work towards balancing these qualities to achieve a more harmonious and integrated state of mind.
  • Path to Enlightenment:
    • The Five Buddha Families serve as a roadmap for the path to enlightenment. Each family represents a particular stage in the process of transforming our minds from a state of confusion and suffering to one of clarity and compassion. Understanding the path of transformation helps practitioners navigate their spiritual journey.
  • Cultivation of Wisdom:
    • The wisdom associated with each Buddha Family encourages the cultivation of insight and understanding. Through contemplation and meditation, practitioners can develop a clearer perception of themselves, their thoughts, and the nature of reality.

In summary, the Five Buddha Families serve as a psychological and spiritual tool for self-reflection, transformation, and the cultivation of enlightened qualities. By understanding these families, individuals can gain insight into their own minds, work on transforming negative emotions, and progress on the path toward greater wisdom and compassion.